hero-img

Don’t be afraid to be creative

By Rodrigue Falémé, Managing Director The Oval Office France

It’s been a tough year, no doubt about that. But allow me to challenge your perception, just for a moment. Because have you ever stopped to marvel at the explosion of creativity this past year? Yes, the endless TikTok challenges and internet memes may have brightened our days while we were at home, locked away behind our computer screens.

But the corona crisis has also challenged us to come up with all sorts of inventive solutions. From health professionals developing new drugs and strategies for combating the spread of the virus to teachers and parents reinventing education while schools are closed; creativity has taken many unexpected forms this past year.

Creative ideas help to overcome challenges, whether to contain a pandemic, provide essential services, rethink society, entertain people for a moment, or make them experience brands. Creativity is not the prerogative of just a few great minds and innovators; it is intrinsic to mankind. Just watch how babies and children explore the world around them, how inventive they are, how nothing will stop them getting where they want to be.

Education, experience, failures, challenges, and even criticism shape our creative potential. David Kelley, one of the developers of design thinking, argues that we are all creative and the lack of creativity is linked to the lack of creative confidence. Creativity is just a muscle that can be strengthened and maintained through effort and experience, he says.

I like to share this viewpoint. Nobody should be afraid to be creative. And in our industry, I believe we need to challenge brands to be more empathetic and use creativity to help solve consumer problems and needs.

Watch hereunder the Ted Talk given by David Kelley. (source: YouTube)

hero-img

N’ayez pas peur d’être créatif

Par Rodrigue Falémé, Managing Director The Oval Office France.

Personne ne le conteste, l’année a été difficile. Mais laissez-moi pourtant challenger votre perception, ne serait-ce qu’un instant. Avez-vous remarqué l’explosion de créativité qui a accompagné ces derniers mois ? Alors oui, il y a eu les interminables défis Tik Tok et les memes qui ont peut-être égayé vos longues journées de confinement face à l’ordinateur.

Mais la pandémie nous a aussi obligés à faire preuve d’une inventivité renouvelée. Les professionnels de la santé ont dû développer de nouveaux médicaments et de nouvelles stratégies pour combattre la propagation du virus; enseignants et parents ont été amenés à réinventer leurs pratiques éducatives pendant que les écoles étaient fermées; la créativité a pris bien des formes inattendues pendant l’année écoulée.

Qu’il s’agisse de contenir une pandémie, de fournir des services essentiels, de repenser la société, de divertir les gens un instant ou de leur offrir une expérience de marque, les idées créatives aident à relever des défis. Car la créativité n’est pas l’apanage de quelques grands esprits et inventeurs. Elle est le propre de l’humanité. Il suffit d’observer comment les bébés et les enfants explorent le monde autour d’eux, leur capacité à innover, à trouver des solutions pour arriver à leurs fins. Rien ne les arrête…

L’éducation, l’expérience, les échecs, les défis et même les critiques façonnent notre potentiel créatif. David Kelley, l’un des concepteurs du design thinking, affirme que nous sommes tous créatifs. Le manque de créativité découlerait simplement de notre manque de confiance dans notre propre capacité à créer. La créativité serait un muscle que l’on pourrait renforcer et maintenir par le travail et l’expérience.

J’aime cette idée. Personne ne devrait avoir peur d’être créatif. Et dans notre industrie, je pense qu’il est essentiel de mettre les marques au défi d’être plus empathiques et créatives pour mieux répondre aux problèmes et aux besoins de leurs clients.

Regardez ci-dessous le Ted Talk de David Kelley. (source: YouTube)